Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Board Recommendation?
Kite U.S. Forums > KiteMI & Ontario Canada Forum > Where are you riding on the Great Lakes?
sojopo
Looking to get a new twintip board. Started in april on a LF Proof, instantly realized it's limitations and grabbed an ocean rodeo Mako King. Love the Mako, but it's just too big. Looking to get into a smaller twintip, something light, stays on my feet in the air, maneuverable for pop, but handles the chop well. I'm no experte, intermediate at best. Recommendations? (175#)

SoJoPo
Bruce
Hi,

This will be my third season riding. I'm not an expert either, but I got a chance last fall to compare my current board, Cabrinha 138 Icon to a North 135 Gonzalez(demo from Detroit kiteboarding). I'm about 175 lbs. The differences were remarkable. The Gonzalez rode upwind really well and it has a lot of flex so it soaks up the chop. It was forgiving landing jumps because of the board flex (some say mushy). No real complaints with the Icon except that it had no flex. I actually injured my heel (3 months of pain, enough to cause a limp, then a month of numbness) on a landing partly because of the rock hard board and partly because I'm not that good at landing jumps. wink.gif

As far as the straps were concerned, they were both good. Although I had to repair the Cabrinha straps because they pulled through the mounting bolts to the board.

These boards might be big compared to what you are looking for, but independent of size, I think the board characteristic can be quite different. I guess the best thing would be to demo a board if you have a chance. Also some of the shop owners are quite good at recommending boards.

Good luck.
ORK
QUOTE(sojopo @ Jan 15 2011, 05:42 AM) *