Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: newbie, big guy, big kite, what board?
Kite U.S. Forums > KiteMI & Ontario Canada Forum > Where are you riding on the Great Lakes?
wanderer-rrorc
so im a newbie..(obvious)...but I can kite..

Im in central ohio and talked to a few guys local already..they indicate BIG kites for the local area fer beginners (low wind)...

Im a biggun...5'10 300lb..muscular but still fatty..work all day..not some computer gamer eatin chips and surfin the net (no offense to chip-eatin-internet-surfers)..so athletics not too much a problem..just have trouble walkin away from a good meal..(and recenlty the wife had twins and the last 8months have been alot of being in the house helpin and less firewood/trucks/man-work)..

Ive got a 20 meter Naish v4 comin..I need some feedback on this..and I'm planning on goin 55cm bar due to my shoulder width but not sure on a 5 line setup or not..(dont wanna over-complicate things..and I KNOW Im gonna end up getting a diffrent setup as I learn and get a feel for the rite kite for me..)

but I have NO idea what board..Im fairly sure a symetrical board (non-directional) is what I will use so I dont have to swap my freddy-flinstone feet...but im at a loss for a decent setup, size length and width..fins..bindings...clueless..

so I would LOVE some recomendations on other kites and boards that are more versatile and best suited to my large frame..

Im not afraid to spend some money..for the last decade we did 4x4 rock crawling (east coast team 2 years)....lemme tell ya..its EXPENSIVE..BUT...I sold my diesel old towrig..and got a realy nice camper setup for the family (3 kids) and a 2010 tundra doublecab to put it in..but I need something to do at the beach OTHER than not look at OTHER women..(wifes rules..not mine!)