Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tawas KiteUS Course Race Series (Race 1)
Kite U.S. Forums > Industry Resources & Information > Events, Group Trips & Camps > Events
Turtle
Sorry for the lack of information and short notice. KiteUS is holding its first official course race this weekend in East Tawas Michigan on Lake Huron.

The race committee (John, Tom S and Steve M) are staying at the Timberlane Resort, which is at the entrance to Tawas State Park, but I heard they are booked 100%. This is going to be a laid back casual race structure so we can get the feel for it. I will post details on a riders meeting in Tawas at Timeberlane very soon once I hammer out the details.

John
FellowCountryMan
If anybody has course layout input we would love to hear your suggestions.
jerome
I have some experience on racing with sailboat.
You need to determine the racing area : what is the depth to check if it is going to be easy to anchor buoy.
how many buoy do you have ?
how many power boat, for starting and arrival procedure and safety ?
who is kiting with a timer and know the rules ? blink.gif
depending on that, we can work on a course
Jerome

QUOTE(FellowCountryMan @ Aug 19 2008, 08:39 AM) *
If anybody has course layout input we would love to hear your suggestions.

mnpaslay
are kites sizes going to be set or whatever you can hold down?
FellowCountryMan
This first one is going to be a learning experience for both us and the kiter's. It's going to be very casual and simple so we all can get our feet wet without any headaches. There will be no entrance fee due to the laid back nature of this race.

Course is going to be small with hopes of being able to complete it in 15 - 25 mins.
The water depth is 25 - 40 ft and our buoys are not that large at this time.
We will have one support boat and will limit heat sizes to 6 kiter's.
We are planning on using 3 buoys for the course this weekend but will add more in the future.